GOVERNMENT OF ANDHRA PRADESH ABSTRACT

HOLIDAYS –General Holidays and Optional Holidays for the year 2017 – Declared.

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION (POLL.A) DEPARTMENT

G.O.RT.No. 2412 Dated: 24-11-2016

ORDER:-

The following Notification shall be published in the next issue of Andhra Pradesh extra-ordinary Gazette:

NOTIFICATION

The Government of Andhra Pradesh direct that the days specified in Annexure-I shall be observed as General Holidays by all the State Government Offices excluding the holidays falling on Sundays shown in Part-II and Optional Holidays shown in Annexure-II except the Optional Holidays falling on Sundays shown in Annexure Part-II, during the year 2017.

- 2. The State Government directs that all offices under State Government shall remain closed on all Sundays and Second Saturdays in all the months during the year 2017.
- **3.** In addition to the above mentioned General Holidays in Annexure-I, the State Government employees may avail themselves of Optional Holidays not exceeding **FIVE** during the year 2017 on festival/occasions specified in Annexure-II to this order, at their option and irrespective of the religion to which the festival pertains. Permission to avail any of these holidays shall be applied for, in writing in advance and shall normally be granted by the Superior Officers competent to grant casual leave except when the presence of an individual employee is considered necessary in exigencies of Government work.
- 4. The Government also directs that General Holidays shall not ipso-facto apply to the Industrial Establishment and Public Undertakings under the control of the State Government, the workmen engaged in Public Works Departments and Educational Institutions in this State. Separate orders regarding the festivals/occasions when these Institutions have to observe holidays shall be issued by the concerned Administrative Department of the Secretariat.
- **5.** If there is any change of date in respect of Idu'l Zuha, Muharram and id-e-Milad as per the sighting of the moon or any other Hindu holiday as well, it shall be announced through electronic / print media. All the Departments of Secretariat, Heads of Departments and District Collectors shall take action according to such an announcement and without waiting for formal order about the change of date.

(BY ORDER AND IN THE NAME OF THE GOVERNOR OF ANDHRA PRADESH)

SATYA PRAKASH TUCKER CHIEF SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

То

The Commissioner of Printing, Stationery and Stores Purchase (Publication Wing), Govt. Regl. Press Building, Mutyalampadu, Vijayawada-11. (They are requested to publish the above Notification in the next issue of Andhra Pradesh State Extra-Ordinary Gazette and supply 500 copies to Govt.

The Commissioner, Information and Public Relations, State Guest House Premises, Gopala Reddy Street, Suryaraopet, Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh. (He is requested to give wide publicity through media).

The Publicity Cell, A.P., Interim Secretariat Complex, Velagapudi.

The Home/Education/TR&B/Irr. & CAD(PW)/Agri. & Coop./Energy/Food & Civil Supplies/AH&F/EFS&ST/Ind.&Com./B.C.Welfare/WD&CW/LE&T/YAT&C Departments

(They are requested to take necessary action in the matter with reference to para 4 of the notification).

All other Departments of Secretariat.

All Administrative Sections in General Administration Department.

All Heads of Departments.

All the Collectors & District Magistrates in Andhra Pradesh

The Resident Commissioner, A.P. Bhavan, No.1, Ashoka Road, New Delhi.

The Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, New Delhi.

(P.T.O.)

The Chief Secretaries of all States and Union Territories.

The Registrar General, High Court of Judicature for the State of Telangana and State of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad.

The Registrar, A.P. Administrative Tribunal, Hyderabad.

The Registrar, Institution of A.P. Lokayukta/Upalokayukta, Hyderabad.

The Chief Executive Officer, A.P. State Wakf Board, Vijayawada, Transit Office at Hyderabad.

The Secretary, A.P. Public Service Commission, Hyderabad.

All the Heads of Local Financial Institutions in Hyderabad/ Amaravathi.

The P.S. to CM/Spl.C.S. to C.M./All P.Ss to Ministers/P.S. to C.S/P.S. to Secretary (Poll)/P.A. to Addl. Secretary(Proto)

SF/SC

//FORWARDED: : BY ORDER//

SECTION OFFICER (SC)

<u>ANNEXURE –I</u>

GENERAL HOLIDAYS

S.No	OCCASION/FESTIVAL	DATE	DAY	SAKA-ERA
1	2	3	4	5
1.	BHOGI	13.01.2017	FRIDAY	PAUSHA 23–1938
2.	REPUBLIC DAY	26.01.2017	THURSDAY	MAGHA 06 – 1938
3.	MAHA SIVARATHRI	24.02.2017	FRIDAY	PHALGUNA 05- 1938
4.	UGADI	29.03.2017	WEDNESDAY	CHAITRA 08- 1939
5.	SRI RAMA NAVAMI / BABU JAGIVAN RAM'S BIRTHDAY	05.04.2017	WEDNESDAY	CHAITRA 15-1939
6.	GOOD FRIDAY / DR.B.R. AMBEDKAR'S BIRTHDAY	14.04.2017	FRIDAY	CHAITRA 24-1939
7.	RAMZAN (ID-UL-FITR)	26.06.2017	MONDAY	ASHADHA 05-1939
8.	SRI KRISHNA ASTAMI	14.08.2017	MONDAY	SRAVANA 23 – 1939
9.	INDEPENDENCE DAY	15.08.2017	TUESDAY	SRAVANA 24-1939
10.	VINAYAKA CHAVITHI	25.08.2017	FRIDAY	BHADRA 03-1939
11.	BAKRID (ID-UL-AZHA)	02.09.2017	SATURDAY	BHADRA 11 – 1939
12.	DURGASHTAMI	28.09.2017	THURSDAY	ASVINA 06-1939
13.	VIJAYA DASAMI/ DUSSEHRA	30.09.2017	SATURDAY	ASVINA 08 – 1939
14.	MAHATMA GANDHI JAYANTHI	02.10.2017	MONDAY	ASVINA 10 – 1939
15.	DEEPAVALI	19.10.2017	WEDNESDAY	ASVINA 26-1939
16.	EID MILADUN NABI	01.12.2017	FRIDAY	AGRAHAYANA 10-1939
17.	CHRISTMAS	25.12.2017	MONDAY	PAUSHA 04-1939

PART-II

The following festivals occur on Sunday during the year 2017 $\,$

1	SANKRANTI/PONGAL	14.01.2017	2 ND SATURDAY	PAUSHA
1.	SAINKKANTI/PONGAL	14.01.2017		24-1938
2	KANUMU	15.01.2017	SUNDAY	PAUSHA
2.	KANUIVIU	15.01.2017	SUNDAY	25-1938
3.	ноп	12.03.2017	SUNDAY	PHALGUNA
	HOLI	12.05.2017	SUNDAT	21-1938
4.	SHAHADAT IMAM HUSSAIN (A.S.) 10 TH MOHARRUM, 1493 HIRJI	01.10.2017	SUNDAY	ASVINA
				09-1939

NOTE: SRI RAMA NAVAMI/BABU JAGJIVAN RAM'S BIRTHDAY (05.04.2017) AND GOOD FRIDAY/ DR.B.R. AMBEDKAR'S BIRTHDAY (14.04.2017) HOLIDAYS FALLING ON SAME DAY.

(Contd.Annexure.II)

<u>ANNEXURE - II</u>

OPTIONAL HOLIDAYS

S.NO	OCCASION/FESTIVAL	DATE	DAY	SAKA-ERA
1	2	3	4	5
1.	YAZ DAHUM SHAREEF	10.01.2017	TUESDAY	PAUSHA 20-1938
2.	SRI PANCHAMI	01.02.2017	WEDNESDAY	MAGHA 01-1938
3.	BIRTHDAY OF HAZRATH ALI (RA)	11.04.2017	TUESDAY	CHAITRA 21-1939
4.	SHAB-E-MERAJ	25.04.2017	TUESDAY	VAISAKHA 05-1939
5.	BASAVA JAYANTHI	28.04.2017	FRIDAY	VAISAKHA 08-1939
6.	BUDDHA PURNIMA	10.05.2017	WEDNESDAY	VAISAKHA 20-1939
7.	SHAB-E-BARAT	12.05.2017	FRIDAY	VAISAKHA 22-1939
8.	SHAHADAT HAZRATH ALI (A.S.)	16.06.2017	FRIDAY	JYAISHTHA 26-1939
9.	JUMA-ATUL-WADA /SHAB- E-QADER	23.06.2017	FRIDAY	ASHADHA 02-1939
10.	VARALAKSHMI VRATHAM	04.08.2017	FRIDAY	SRAVANA 13-1939
11.	SRAVANA PURNIMA / RAKHI PURNIMA	07.08.2017	MONDAY	SRAVANA 16-1939
12.	PARSI NEW YEAR'S DAY	17.08.2017	MONDAY	SRAVANA 26-1939
13.	MAHALAYA AMAVASYA	19.09.2017	TUESDAY	BHADRA 28-1939
14.	MAHARNAVAMI	29.09.2017	FRIDAY	ASVINA 07-1939
15.	NARAKA CHATURDHI	18.10.2017	TUESDAY	ASVINA 26-1939
16.	KARTHIKA PURNIMA / GURUNANAK JAYANTHI	04.11.2017	SATURDAY	KARTIKA 13-1939
17.	ARBAYEEN	10.11.2017	FRIDAY	AGRAHAYANA 19-1939
18.	BOXING DAY	26.12.2017	MONDAY	PAUSHA 05-1939

<u>PART - II</u>

The following festivals occur on Sunday during the year 2017.

1.	NEW YEAR	01.01.2017	SUNDAY	PAUSHA 11-1938
2.	BIRTHDAY OF HZT.SYED MOHAMMED JUVANPURI MAHDI MAÚD(A.S.)	11.02.2017	2 ND SATURDAY	MAGHA 22-1938
3.	MAHAVEER JAYANTHI	09.04.2017	SUNDAY	CHAITRA 14-1939
4.	RATHA YATHRA	25.06.2017	SUNDAY	ASHADHA 04-1939
5.	EID-E-GHADEER	10.09.2017	SUNDAY	BHADRA 19-1939
6.	CHRISTMAS EVE	24.12.2017	SUNDAY	PAUSHA 03-1939

- (*) Tamil New Year's Day and Kanumu on 15.01.2017 and 9th Moharrum t1439 Hijri on 30.09.2017 (which would have been Optional Holidays) are declared as General Holidays in view of Sankranti/Pongal and Vijaya Dasami, respectively.
- (**) JUMA-ATUL-WADA / SHAB-E-QADER (23.06.2017) Optional Holidays falling on same day.